Members

Research Group Leads

Mercedes Peñalba-Sotorrío

Francoist Spain, Nazi Germany, War Propaganda, Second World War, Neutrality, Fascism, Dictatorship

m.penalba-sotorrio@mmu.ac.uk @mpenalba

Chris Millington

Modern France and Europe; Political Violence and Terrorism; Conflict, Warfare and Veterans

c.millington@mmu.ac.uk @DrCMillington

Researchers

Stuart Aveyard

Modern Ireland, British History, Conflict in Northern Ireland, Industrial Relations, Memory

s.aveyard@mmu.ac.uk @scaveyard

Graham Cross

United States, Military History, Diplomatic History, American Politics, First World War, Second World War

g.cross@mmu.ac.uk

Jason Crowley

Socio-military History, Classical Greece, Combat Culture, Classic Warfare

j.crowley@mmu.ac.uk

Mark Fenemore

Cold War, German History, Sexuality, Everyday Life, Dictatorship, 20th Century

m.fenemore@mmu.ac.uk @KidnapCity

Catherine Fletcher

Renaissance, Diplomacy, Italy, Early Modern Europe

catherine.fletcher@mmu.ac.uk @cath_fletcher

Kathryn Hurlock

Crusades, Medieval Warfare, Pilgrimage, Returning Soldiers, British History

k.hurlock@mmu.ac.uk @KathrynHurlock

Michelle Moffat

Second World War; Commemoration of War; Scottish Society, Culture and Politics; National Identity

m.moffat@mmu.ac.uk

Marcus Morris

British History, Class, Race, Empire, Industrial Relations, Marxist theory, First World War, Nationalism and Internationalism

marcus.morris@mmu.ac.uk @DrMarcusMorris

Sara Nesteruk

Ukraine, Holodomor, Graphic Design, Data Visualisation, Visual Identity, Digital Histories.

S.Nesteruk@mmu.ac.uk @SaraNesteruk (X)

Gervase Phillips

European and American Military History, Colonial American History, Race and Slavery in the US, American Civil War, Animals and Warfare

g.phillips@mmu.ac.uk

Jason T. Roche

Crusades, Medieval Warfare, Byzantine Empire, Medieval Anatolia

j.t.roche@mmu.ac.uk @JayTRoche